Koek (Loaf cake)

Recipe from Joanne Wierstra

Although the research project is finished, I do still have more family recipes to share with you. So apologies for the sporadic posting, but I will continue to grow this recipe repository, slowly, over time.

Final Koek (Cake)“Koek” is simply “cake” in Dutch and when my parents used it synonymously with this specific loaf cake. My mom often made this recipe for company and served it for guests with coffee or tea. It’s a gingerbread-like cake. Growing up, it was not my favorite—honestly—because it was not sweet enough. Now I appreciate it more. It can be served on its own, with a dusting of icing sugar. It you want to dress it up further, serve it with a chunky, homemade apple sauce or caramel sauce.

I made this cake for my parents who don’t bake much anymore. I doubled the recipe and made it in a bundt pan. The original recipe came from a church recipe book that my mom has been using for as long as I can remember. I have my grandmother’s copy and it’s a great resource for old recipes.

Original Koek RecipeIngredients

¼ cup    butter, room temperature                          1              egg

½ cup    white sugar                                                        ¼ cup    brown sugar

1 tbsp    dark syrup

2 cups   all-purpose flour                                              1½ tsp   baking powder

¼ tsp     baking soda                                                        1 tsp      cinnamon

½ tsp     cloves                                                                   ½ tsp     ginger

¼ tsp     nutmeg

1 cup     water

Koek BatterInstructions

  1. Preheat oven to 325° F.
  2. Prepare a loaf pan with oil and line it with parchment paper.
  3. Beat butter, sugars, and syrup.
  4. Whisk in egg.
  5. Sift together dry ingredients.
  6. Add dry ingredients to butter mixture in three stages, alternating with water. It will great a soft batter.
  7. Pour batter into the prepared pan.
  8. Bake for 50-60 minutes until loaf is baked through and lightly browned. Unbaked koek batter

Leave a comment